Mountain Project Logo

Forearm fatigue

Original Post
Fehim Hasecic · · Boulder, CO · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 130

I started training for the first time this winter since I started climbing. Did ARC for a month and then started hangboard. One week in and my forearms feel tired throughout the day. They’re basically tense and I generally feel like after coming down from pump on a climb. I stopped hangboarding because I don’t want to mess myself up. I’m 6’1” and weight 190 now. I started hangboard with 35lb counter weight. Anyone had a similar issue? Is this a normal part of the process and my forearms will go back to normal?

kenr · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 15,356

There's like a 0.01% chance that you've hit some wierd physiology / biochemistry in your unique body.
But more likely this is just your own reaction to first time serious training of this type. Likely partly mental.

Most likely just got back into it, rest a 2 or 3 days between sessions, try lighter intensity af first, until your mental perceptions get accustomed to it.

Ken

Jon W · · Longmont Colorado · Joined Jun 2010 · Points: 75

^^^ This. Even try once a week, Less is more.....

You're just getting use to it. I had the same reaction the first HB cycle I did. That said and at your level, I would boulder and stay on lead routes until I broke into .12s. Once on .12s, start HB.

Lena chita · · OH · Joined Mar 2011 · Points: 1,030

What do you mean by “one week in” for hangboard? That is, basically, TWO workouts?

I hope you aren’t hangboarding more than that!