Mountain Project Logo

Bolting routes

Original Post
Kyle Price · · Youngstown, OH/ Charleston wv · Joined May 2017 · Points: 205

Hey guys I am completely new to bolting and have some access to private property that has some good Nutall sandstone small cliff lines that are 50” I’d like to bolt a few potential routes but would like to get some imput on gear needed to get into bolting?   Drills. Bolts , hangers , anchors the whole nine yards ? Anyone care to shed some light to a newby? I can likely wrap down on a few of these lines

eli poss · · Durango, Co · Joined May 2014 · Points: 523

First of all, you need to find somebody who knows what they're doing that can teach you. This is not the kind of stuff to be self-taught and your mistakes can now not only kill you but also kill other people. They will likely have most if not all of the equipment needed to place bolts. But if you're just looking for an equipment list then here:

You will need a drill, a masonry drill bit that fits your drill (sds+ for power drills, dunno about hand drills), a wrench that fits your bolt (1/2" for 3/8" bolts with a hex head, 9/16" for 3/8" bolts with threads and a nut) preferably a torque wrench until you get a feel for how tight the specified torque feels, a blowtube or blowout pump/bulb (the pumps and bulbs work better but the blowout tube is much cheaper), and preferably a brush that fits the diameter of your hole. Oh and a hammer.

Also, having a dedicated bolt bag with a drawstring closure is very helpful. Also, if you are bolting top-down then you ought to TR the routes first and mark (I'ved used chalk to mark it) places where you want to put a bolt. They should be in good rock, have a good clipping hold that is reachable even for short people, and follow a roughly straight line up the climb with minimal zigzagging going from one bolt to the next. 

Jcastleberry · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2010 · Points: 61

At 50” you’re not likely to die from falling.