Mountain Project Logo

Tahquitz Ice Climbing

Original Post
Alex Nelson · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2018 · Points: 0

I've seen some pictures of ice climbing on Tahquitz peak. Can you ice climb on it most winters? Does it regularly get enough ice? Or is it only during the big winter years like 2010? I am just getting into ice climbing, and live in SoCal so I would love to ice climb it this winter. Thanks!

master gumby · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jan 2016 · Points: 152

In the same boat as you. I was planning on checking out the gullies in the others and the north side of San Jacinto when we get some snow (if at all).

I wouldn't rely on there being ice at TZ to climb tho, prolly only if we get some big storms.

Benjamin Chapman · · Small Town, USA · Joined Jan 2007 · Points: 13,408

Alex...the ice climbing at Tahquitz is very condition dependent. First, you need a good snowpack. Preferably, a series of storms to dump enough snow to form sufficent ice from the thaw/freeze cycle. Next, we'll need warm days and cold nights to melt the snow and set up the ice. Typically, this doesn't happen annually. When it does it's often in late January or February. Keep your fingers crossed and watch the weather.
A better bet is Lee Vining, east of Tuolumne or Ouray, Colorado.

Fat Dad · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 60

TZ?  That sound like a guy I met once who called the Valley "Yo".  Glad that never caught on.

Ice at Tahquitz is REALLY ephemeral.  Like Benjamin said, you need a good amount of melt and then freezing conditions.  For many years I had always hoped to tick the Trough or the North Face in decent conditions but have never timed it right, though others have clearly gotten lucky.  It's either been mostly rock or pretty soft snow on top of rock.  Global warming and drought aren't helping either. Still an adventure, sometimes even just getting to the base, but lousy climbing unless the conditions are right.  I wish you better luck that I've had.