Mountain Project Logo

Your favorite climbing-specific fingerless workouts

Original Post
Danny Poceta · · Canmore · Joined Nov 2013 · Points: 98

I tore my A4 pulley last week, so I am not to touch a climbing hold for at least a few weeks. I would like to use this time to try and build some strength in the rest of my body, core, etc. I am basically a training novice and am overwhelmed by the number of exercises targeted at the core and am unsure of what will best translate to actual climbing.

Sometimes I do crunches and a few leg lifts, but that's about all I got right now. What are you doing that keeps you fit for climbing without using your hands?? Any guidance is appreciated.

Bill Shubert · · Lexington, MA · Joined Jul 2012 · Points: 55

Lots of stretches. That's about all I can think of that I'd be willing to try...healing a pulley injury is hard, I had a partial tear and it took a couple months.

Jon Frisby · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2013 · Points: 290

ab rollouts and stretching are my favorite

Greg Koeppen · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 41

focus on some strength work, push(over head press), squat, hip hinge(deadlift), make your core work hard like you are unable to do 10 reps of it.  Just doing 100 crunches will not get your core stronger.

B Jolley · · Utah · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 172

Not a core workout but, once you're ready, here is an article that has some good finger PT exercises. Finger PT is crucial to coming back stronger.
https://www.blackdiamondequipment.com/en_US/esther-smith-nagging-finger-injuries/esther-smith-nagging-finger-injuries.html

HaroldT · · Corvallis, OR · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 10

Turkish get ups, Russian twists, planks, standing oblique dumbbell raises, burpees, and weighted step-ups.  

Matthew Tangeman · · SW Colorado · Joined May 2015 · Points: 1,098

+1 for turkish getups mentioned above. Proper form is crucial, however.