Adventure Projects is hiring a web engineer to join us in Boulder, CO
Mountain Project Logo

Injuries, Healthcare, and Climbers--Research Study

Original Post
Austin Kaiser · · Flagstaff, AZ · Joined Sep 2016 · Points: 57

Hi everyone,

I'm a fellow climber reaching out to the climbing community for help with a study I'm conducting as part of my graduate education at Northern Arizona University. I am a student in the Doctor of Physical Therapy program here.

We are using a short (5-6 minutes), anonymous questionnaire to investigate climbers' experience with injuries and healthcare.  Specifically, we are curious about climbers' interest in, perception of, and access to healthcare for climbing-related injuries.  Realizing that most climbers experience climbing-related injuries at some point in their career, we want to gather some information so that we can better communicate with and better serve climbers.  I would love to hear from those who have experienced climbing injuries AS WELL AS THOSE WHO HAVE NOT!

Our heart behind this work really comes down to meeting the climbing community's needs.  Your input is vital and would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your time and help! You are driving change in the quality of healthcare services that climbers receive.  If you feel so inclined, please share the link with fellow climbers! The more responses, the better it will work.  To take the survey, follow the link below!

I also posted in the 'general' forum to catch those people lucky enough to have never experienced climbing injuries.

http://nau.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_eEW3PQazwr9yweN

Climb on!
Austin

David Coley · · UK · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 70

Well, if you want to include non-USA locations, I have been mashed and helicoptered in the UK and the rest of Europe several times. Each time I went to a hospital, was re-built, given great care (except once in France - not sure what went wrong there) and never charged.