Mountain Project Logo

Visiting Kuaui

Original Post
Arie Beweirdo · · San Diego, CA · Joined Aug 2018 · Points: 0

I will be visiting Kauai from August 23rd-30th. This is my first time to Kauai and actually it will be my first time to any of the Big Islands. Im hoping to connect to with climbing and hiking people  before heading over. I have nothing set in stone and would alsonull appreciate some tips on camping there, 

Mike Mu. · · hagerstown · Joined Feb 2007 · Points: 65

Arie, I will be in Kauai next week for 2 1/2 weeks with wife and kids in tow. We have visited each island several times, but we always come back with Kauai as our favorite.  We spent a month island hopping for our honeymoon 10 years ago and to try to keep the cost down we camped half the time.  We were disappointed at how shitty the campgrounds were at every single island--granted I dont think camping pumps a lot of money into the economy there, so the state's focus is not on the aesthetics of their campgrounds.  They ran the gamut from shitty to really shitty to here is a whole in the ground that you can sleep in-shitty.  The absolute worst campgrounds were on Kauai.  My wife still brings up the night spent at the far west shore campsight with young teenage bucks in their trucks tearing around our tent three feet from our heads.  Good times. Really, just throw down the coin for a hotel--camping there is not worth the hassle.  If you do decide to camp and go with the Kauai county parks department or whatever it is--you need permits.