Mountain Project Logo

Bringing up a second, Belay styles

Original Post
Michael Tilden · · Boise, ID · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 260

I’m trying to educate myself on belay styles when bringing up a second climber. I’m still learning so please correct me if I’m wrong. When bringing up second on steep alpine route what belay systems do you use?

Indirect belay (Being clove hitched in or otherwise attached to anchors and belaying second up directly from belay loop.) Seems most simple.

Redirect (Belay second up from belay loop redirected through anchors/master point.)

Direct belay (Belay on anchors or master point. Example: Belay with atc in guide mode.) Seems most safe in event of belayer accident.

What are the pros and cons? Does your technique change when climbs get steeper or more complex? How do you back up these systems?

Mark Cowan · · Centerville, GA · Joined Dec 2015 · Points: 8

I almost always use an ATC in guide mode directly off the shelf of the masterpoint. This isolates you so that if your follower falls, you're not taking the impact to your harness and frees you to move and adjust while belaying. Belaying off the harness is useful for marginal gear anchors where the belayer becomes an additional point in the system to absorb some fall force (should not be terribly high while bringing the second up, but if they immediately lead from there).

A redirect offers much of the benefit of a guide mode belay in that the belayer can move slightly more freely, but will still be taking impact from any falls.

Hope this helps some

JF M · · NoCo · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 1,823

Not "alpine" specific but...