For next few days, REI will DOUBLE your gift to the Access Fund - up to $65,000. Donate Now!
Mountain Project Logo

How safe are loose bolts really? What to look for

Original Post
Alex Langfield · · Colorado · Joined Dec 2011 · Points: 65

I’ve been climbing for a while now (8 years) been in some sketch situations. but I was in a situation with really sketchy loose hangars and wanted to open the topic. The hangars I was rapping on were loose and had no choice but to use them. I would tighten and they’d still spin. What should I look for, and what to do in the event. 

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 275

How were you tightening the bolts/nuts? With your fingers, I'd imagine?

As long as the bolt is not loose in its hole, and the hanger is as close to the rock as you can get it, you're safe. Even if the hanger spins. As a general rule, you want a full nut of thread engagement.

Nah, the hanger I was tightening was with a nut tool and it was spinning in the hole

Alex Langfield wrote: Nah, the hanger I was tightening was with a nut tool and it was spinning in the hole

In that case, your options are:

1. Use the bolt
  2. Don't use the bolt (rap or lower on one bolt only)
  3. Downclimb
This is assuming you can't back it up with gear or natural protection. Not sure what you're looking for?

Edit: There has been discussion on previous threads about some people not cleaning the last draw until you are being lowered. Just for the reason of a suspect anchor.

So if you are the one cleaning the route, as you come to the last draw, you clip it to the belayer's strand. Then, as you are lowered, you clean the draw, because you have some assurance the anchor will hold.

I've never done this or seen an anchor that bad, but apparently it makes some people feel better.
T Roper · · Chosstown · Joined Mar 2006 · Points: 865

Sketchy rap anchors make you learn to rap very carefully. Its good training.