Mountain Project Logo

New to Stowe, VT - Looking for mid week evening partners...

Original Post
Morgan Patterson · · NH · Joined Oct 2009 · Points: 8,945

Hi all...

I recently moved to Stowe VT and unfort shattered my collar bone and had some major surgery ~9 weeks ago. I'm just starting to get back to some normalcy and am looking to start climbing again. Difficulty wise, I was up in Smuggs on Saturday and was able to boulder up to V2 but probably dont want to try anything harder for quite some time. I work in Montpelier and am looking to get out after work climbing for some bouldering or roped climbing, I'm thinking either Bolton, Smuggs, or indoors? etc. Maybe even some weekends... Basically, I haven't climbed in the area other than at Smuggs Saturday so I'm very eager to see the area's offerings!

Cheers,

Morgan

Taylor D · · Vermont · Joined Feb 2018 · Points: 85

Hey Morgan! I'm still fairly new to climbing, but I've been climbing outside at 5.8 level which might be along the lines you're looking for, but may be too easy. I've only done sport climbs outside and I don't have a rope yet, but I've got a grigri and and ATC and would be happy to meet up and belay/struggle up rocks sometime. Welcome to the area!

Also if you are interested in climbing inside, there's a meetup group that climbs at Petra Cliffs every Tuesday at 6 and Sunday at 3. It's a great group with a wide range of skill levels, so you can always find someone to climb with. Even if they're not at your level, you'll be able to find a belay partner there. Hope this helps, and feel free to get in touch directly if you want to meet up.

petzl logic · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2013 · Points: 730

if you want to climb in quebec sometime lmk

petzl logic wrote: if you want to climb in quebec sometime lmk

I've never even considered the possibility... I'll have to take you up on that and make that happen some time this summer.

What's some of the best areas closest to VT?