Mountain Project Logo

Chasing shade bouldering around Atlanta

Original Post
Matt S · · Atlanta · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 0

I'm new to the Atlanta area and have my first opportunity to get outside this weekend but it's supposed to be a scorcher. I'm trying to figure out the best day trip from Atlanta where I could drive up early, climb the morning then drive out to a swimming hole or something on the way back.

Could anyone provide thoughts/tips on the shade/activity potential that the major crags hold in the area? We're mainly looking for bouldering as we don't have racks yet but we're open to anything. I assume that Stone fort and Rocktown are a bit more wooded than HP40, is this correct?

Any tips/personal recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Kyle Askew · · Decatur · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0

Howdy man,

I havent been to Stone Fort or Rocktown, but some buddies went last weekend to Rocktown and said it wasnt too bad. Pretty shaded/wooded. HP40 had some areas that were pretty shaded when I went a few months ago. Gotta be some good Bama swimming holes along the way.

Not saying its the best or most exciting option, but you can always boulder Boatrock early and then hit Sweetwater creek to cool down. Or catch the sundown session..

Jason Eberhard · · Atlanta, GA · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 66

Foster Falls near Chattanooga has a lot of sport, is wooded, and you can swim under the waterfall that is on the hike out from climbing.
Sand Rock in AL will be a little warmer, but you can drive 30 minutes to swim and jump off the cliffs in Little river canyon afterwards.  https://goo.gl/maps/vaJFruk1Zf12 

Alexander Stathis · · Athens, GA · Joined Jan 2016 · Points: 334