Adventure Projects is hiring an Android engineer to join us in Boulder, CO
Mountain Project Logo

climbing/skiing after hip surgery (specifically periacetabular osteotomy)

Original Post
Max S · · Steamboat Springs, CO · Joined Aug 2017 · Points: 0

I was just wondering if there are people out there that have had PAO (periacetabular osteotomy) surgery and have been able to return to trad climbing and/or skiing hard, and what was your time frame to return? I'm supposed to get this surgery on my left hip in 6 weeks because I have hip dysplasia in that hip as well as a torn labrum. Also, I've been told by multiple doctors that I am too young, early-mid twenties, for a THR. I work as a guide in the summers and patroller in the winter, so I'm just wondering if there are others who are super active and aggressive climbers and skiers that have had this procedure? Any and all thoughts are appreciated. Thanks. 

Greg Egbert · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

I didn’t have the same surgery, but I did have hip surgery to repair a torn labrum and fix a bone defect in both the hip and femur. For me it was six months before I started climbing and about 12 months before I felt comfortable doing anything. I still have issues almost 18 months out but they are tolerable. One advantage you have is your age (I’m almost twice your age.) My advice to you is to follow your doctors orders, do the PT as directed (hopefully your doctor has a cadre of PTs at his disposal), and don’t try to get back to full activity too quickly. You’re young and have a lot of life ahead of you. An extra month or two or more now to ensure you can climb/ski hard later in life is totally worth it.

Alyssa K · · South Lake Tahoe · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 35