Mountain Project Logo

Portaledge without the fly?

Original Post
Brie Abram · · Celo, NC · Joined Oct 2007 · Points: 493

I'm a noob when it comes to big walls. Anyone use a portaledge without the fly in places like Yosemite May-September or Zion? What are you doing for bivy gear? Plenty of people climb The Nose without a portaledge. What are they using for bivy gear, and would the same kit be appropriate on a portaledge? Yes, I'm trying to put being cheap ahead of a measure of safety

Derek DeBruin · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 1,039
Brian Abram wrote: I'm a noob when it comes to big walls. Anyone use a portaledge without the fly in places like Yosemite May-September or Zion? What are you doing for bivy gear? Plenty of people climb The Nose without a portaledge. What are they using for bivy gear, and would the same kit be appropriate on a portaledge? Yes, I'm trying to put being cheap ahead of a measure of safety

I've used a ledge without a fly in Zion, as early as February/March. Walls aren't that big/long there, so with a good weather forecast and knowledge of potential bail options/commitment points, we felt pretty good about leaving the fly on the ground. Haven't been on the Nose, but there are ledges to sleep on, so portaledge isn't necessarily required. I've used the same bivy gear I've used for other bivying--all my clothes, sleeping bag, sleeping pad, maybe a bivy sack or tarp as needed. 

I'm no wall expert, though. But I've been on a couple. I even own bird beaks and offsets and stuff. 
Matt Kuehl · · Las Vegas · Joined Nov 2010 · Points: 1,712