Mountain Project Logo

New 70m Rope

Original Post
Sean Onasch · · fort collins · Joined May 2016 · Points: 115

I'm looking for a rope in the 9-9.4 diameter category and could use some help. The rope will be primarily be used for multi-pitch trad and some alpine climbing around Colorado. Whats the thinnest, most durable rope that you've had that still inspires confidence?

Kyle Elliott · · Everett, WA · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 775

Sterling Aero 9.2 is my go-to rope for alpine/trad. Super burly for the diameter. A bit pricier, however. 

M Alexander · · SLO, CA · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 21

While I personally haven't used this rope, for $110 it seems hard to beat. I've had no problem in my experience with BD ropes, although they may not be the top of the line.

https://www.steepandcheap.com/black-diamond-9.2-rope?skid=BLD00N9-DUAGD-S70M&ti=U2VhcmNoIFJlc3VsdHM6YmxhY2sgZGlhbW9uZCByb3BlOjE6MTpibGFjayBkaWFtb25kIHJvcGU=​​​

PatMas · · Tulsa, OK · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 0

A lot of people seem to like the Beal joker 9.1 I have only a few pitches on mine, but it seems like it will be a solid rope.

Unicore standard. And dry options available. 

Kyle Elliott wrote: Sterling Aero 9.2 is my go-to rope for alpine/trad. Super burly for the diameter. A bit pricier, however. 

Sweet, Just bought this rope from Alpenglow for $110, 70m Dry (2016). Thanks 

Jan Tarculas · · Riverside, Ca · Joined Mar 2010 · Points: 826

I  have the Sterling Nano 9.0 in 70M and sterling ion 9.4 in 60M. I primarily use the Nano for almost everything now. I bring the 9.4 to TR or routes in Jtree

Getoutside · · Golden, CO · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 0

Not sure about that Alpenglow site. Your price seemed amazing, so I went ready to pull the trigger. I loaded up a Sterling Nano 80m Bi-pattern for $75... That is a $350 rope easy. When I checked the cart though it listed it as 40m standard purple. I think that site could be experiencing some issues.