Mountain Project Logo

Boulder area Bromance/Teacher/Non-Moderate partner wanted

Original Post
Mr. Stevens · · Boulder, CO · Joined Apr 2011 · Points: 1,287

It's a problem as old as time, your regular partners fall out of touch.  Babies, moving, not wanted to climb as hard, or just not wanting to climb anymore.  Reaching out for a few good people to connect with.  Quality over quantity!

About me:  Breaking into 13's in sport, and have red-pointed several 12's on gear.  I love sport climbing, especially limestone, but my heart lies in big free routes.  I've done several grade IV's and V's throughout the country (Moonlight Buttress, Shune's Buttress, Original Beckey, Original Route, Astro Dog, Freeway, etc.) and have a big tick list of similar routes to do in my remaining years.  I don't consider myself a fast climber, but definitely steady and consistent.  I like safety; being alive and uninjured is a great thing.  I'm also a teacher, which means I have weekends free during the school months, as well as the typical breaks throughout the year.  I can get out after work pretty much every day of the week, and can be at most Boulder area spots and/or Clear Creek Canyon by 4-4:30.  Lastly, I'm a planner.  I like to make a plan, and I stick by that plan.  I am NOT a bailer, and I have a hard time with those who are.  I also can't do big groups (i.e. more than 3 people).  I like climbing with one other person, maybe a group of three if we're cragging.  If you and your partner want to climb with me and my partner, that's cool, but we all don't have to do the exact same thing.  Camping and hanging out is a different story...