Mountain Project Logo

How to climb resourcefully with trad gear

Original Post
John C · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 1

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to trad climbing and my main fear is that I will run out of the proper gear as I start climbing to the top with a standard rack.  For instance, if I climb a route that barely has any beta or info on MP and I use my only #1 red cam and other gear of equivalent size but turns out to build an anchor at the top, I absolutely needed that #1 red cam.  Has anyone ever come across a situation like this or have any advice for a situation like this? Any information is much appreciated!!

Thanks in advance.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Start by climbing below your limit so you don't need as much gear to complete the climb. That way. you can confidently run it out until you get a placement with a different size.

Have a rack of double cams.

Have fun and stay safe.

Jeff Luton · · It's complicated · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 5

Still pretty new to leading trad myself, but I’ve gotten in the habit of placing more passive gear recently. If I see a spot that looks like it will take a nut just as good as a cam, I go with the nut. I’ve definitely come to notice the difference when I get to the top with what is still on my rack.

Bill Lawry · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 1,812

A couple things that can / will help ...

As you get more mileage, you will get better at making use of what you do have whether passive or active - small comfort now I know. Meanwhile - spend some time on getting good gear that is not obvious.

The other thing is to down climb to where you have more than one good piece and lower off to go get that #1.

PatMas · · Tulsa, OK · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 40