Mountain Project Logo

Fill out my shoe quiver

Original Post
Luke R 84 · · Georgia · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 378

So I have been climbing in Katana Laces for a few years now and love them. I have some TC Pros as well which I’ve been trying to use more on longer multipitch. I got a pair of Solutions to use for bouldering and steep sport but they KILL my Achilles (I think they aggravate the bursa or just the attachment point on my outer left heel).

I feel like Solutions would be a perfect complement to my other shoes, but the reality is they are probably causing more damage than they’re worth. Any recommendations for a shoe of similar caliber? If it’s not obvious, I’d prefer Sportiva, but I’m definitely open to others. I’d be interested to try Butora Acros, since they’re very similar. I liked Muira VS and Otaki fit, but they still seem too similar to the Katana Lace in their intended use. 

For what it’s worth, I mostly boulder indoors, which is where I’d use these the most, but would definitely boulder and sport climb outdoors in them. I’m pulling V4-5 in the gym and think my footwork is average at this grade.

The Katanas seem to do really well but I liked how I climbed in Solutions, they just cause the tendon issue. 

PatMas · · Tulsa, OK · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 0

If the solutions hurt your heels the Acros will be worse. If your into Butora the Narsha will likely be more your speed. I’m a big fan of the Tenaya Oasi as an ‘aggressive’ shoe with a more squared heel cup.

Andrew Krajnik · · Plainfield, IL · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 334

Have you tried the La Sportiva Genius? I also climb in katana laces, and the Genius is my other shoe. Katanas are stiff and edgy, (with harder XS Edge rubber), the Genius is more flexible and edgless design, with softer XS Grip2 rubber. (So, similar style and same rubber as the solutions.)