Mountain Project Logo

Versatile Belay Jacket for Texas Winter Climbing

Original Post
Patrick Macdonald · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2018 · Points: 0

Hi Climbers! 

Wanting to take advantage of the sales. I am trying to find a solid belay jacket for Texas winter mostly. Is there a jacket that is durable enough to be climbed in on granite? Im still fairly new to the sport and still learning. I have the Marmot 1/2 Zip Preon that I wear with the Kuhl Firefly and that worked alright if I was moving. It got pretty chilly though if it was windy or if I was standing still ( i am a baby when its close to 30). Wondering if I should just buy a soft shell and continue layering or look into a synth insulated jacket. Plan on going to Colorado and Squeamish and would like a Jacket that could be used in colder weather as well but equally useful in 30s. I dont know if the Patagonia stretch nano storm is overkill? I liked the features except it lacked a 2 way zipper pull. heard that was fairly important, wondering if yall have any input on what features I should consider vital and which arent too important? 

thanks all! 

P.s. Sorry for the grammar and rambling (first post) 

Tim Stich · · Colorado Springs, Colorado · Joined Jan 2001 · Points: 1,476

This here is what you wanna wear in Texas to blend in. And get rid of that out of state license plate, son. The blue jeans will come in handy when you wanna go skiing in Taos.

Patrick Macdonald · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2018 · Points: 0

HAHA Born and Raised in Texas....

JWarneke · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2008 · Points: 0

Since you are in Texas, I suggest continue layering. The amount of time with really cold weather is limited and an expensive jacket will sit in the closet 95% of the time.