Mountain Project Logo

Easy crack

Original Post
Nathan Z · · SL, UT · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 31

I'm new to the trad game and would love to dial in my crack technique. Anyone have any suggestions for routes or areas with some easy to moderate cracks? I want to practice putting in gear and jamming. I live in Sacramento, and anything within a couple hours would be ideal. Bonus points for places accessible during the winter! 

Scottmx426 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2014 · Points: 0

Hogs back at lovers leap has a variety of 5.4-5.6 low angle routes that are EASY climbing, easy approach. Weather depending of course but it’s been very dry there. Close to Sac. 

Kenny DuJardin · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2015 · Points: 0

Like Scottmx426 said, Hogs Back would be a great choice.  If you want shorter and less committing stuff, Consumnes River Gorge in Placerville would also be a good option.  There are some pretty good easy cracks there.  Perfect climbing weather during the winter, but it does tend to get crowded.

Jared M · · Oakland, CA · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 145

Cosumnes is a quick drive and approach. You can set up TRs and run laps on Dinkum (fingers) and Test Piece (lieback, thin hands).

Phantom Spires has a few crack routes in the 5.5-5.8 range and may be dry with the mild winter so far. Recommend a high clearance vehicle. 

Right on! I did a couple of the easy routes at hogsback a few weeks back and that was the perfect intro to placing gear. That's the kind of stuff I'm looking for, and into the (well protected) 5.7-5.8 range. 

I'll have to check out consumnes, that sounds perfect. 

We thought about hitting phantom spires a couple weeks ago but we're worried there would be too much snow. Anyone been there this winter? 

King Tut · · Citrus Heights · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 430
Nathan Zacharias wrote: