Mountain Project Logo

What to expect in A1

Original Post
Danny Herrera · · San Bruno, CA · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 330

Hello, I have no aid experience but plan on climbing a route that starts off with 5.9 A1 off the ground. What would I need to make this doable? This would be a bolted climb in pinnacles national park

rocknice2 · · Montreal, Quebec · Joined Nov 2006 · Points: 3,043

Danny Herrera wrote:

Hello, I have no aid experience but plan on climbing a route that starts off with 5.9 A1 off the ground. What would I need to make this doable? This would be a bolted climb in pinnacles national park

Be able to free climb at least 5.9.

Hayden robinson · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 90

Based off your description it's probably just a short section of aid, probably a small bolt ladder, depending on your sense of the climbing up higher you might just need couple long slings to use as aiders and quick draws. If you really wanted to Be prepared for aid climbing you want a couple ladders, dasieys, a FIFI hook. I use an adjustable fifi, an Alfrifi. Maybe some offset micro cams and offset nuts if you are doing a C1 like moonlight buttress. I always have a double set of grappling hooks and bat hooks and cam hooks. Sawed off angles and beaks can be really handy to. But I doubt you'll need any of that specialty gear  

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 275

Hayden robinson wrote: