Mountain Project Logo

Scarpa Inverno + LS Baruntse liner?

Original Post
Mountain Rookie · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2017 · Points: 0

Hi!

I'm pretty new to mountaineering, have a few 14-ers in my bag, now I'd like to try myself on higher mountains in the Andes and I'm looking for the most suitable pair of boots. In my area the only kind I'm seeing in shops are the latest, shiniest supergaiters, but I'm concerned about their durability (especially in the rocky Andes...). Also, wouldn't want to spend that kind of money at this point.

I'm thinking of getting a used pair of Scarpa Inverno plastic doubles, and throwing out the stock liners (getting rid of all the germs and concerns that being overused and compressed, they don't insulate like they should), and getting a brand new, heat moldable La Sportiva Baruntse liners that would also get me the perfect fit. (No way to try them on before buying, but owning/having tried on several Scarpa and LS boots, I have a rough idea of the needed size).

Anyone tried this combo? Any opinions/suggestion on my approach..?

Any advice is appreciated, pls show some love for a noob, htx!   

C J · · Sac Valley, CA · Joined Jun 2017 · Points: 0

Why the choice of the Baruntse liner versus an Intuition option?

C J wrote:

Why the choice of the Baruntse liner versus an Intuition option?

I don't know much about either, but at least I have some experience with LS sizing, that might save me some PITA. I did a quick googling, it seems to me that most Intuition liners are more expensive. Is there anything special about them? If my first couple of 5-6k-ers go well and I decide to push for Aconcagua, Denali and the like, I might open up my wallet, but at this point quality/performance is not that much a concern.   

csproul · · Pittsboro...sort of, NC · Joined Dec 2009 · Points: 330