Mountain Project Logo

Sterling Evolution Helix Vs Velocity

Original Post
S Anderson · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 2

I'm pretty new to climbing and at this point climb only at my local gym.  I'm signed up for a leading class and would like to buy my first rope. I've found some good deals on both the Sterling Evolution Helix and the Velocity.  The Velocity seems to be very well regarded and I've not found as much info about the Helix. 

My Main question is regarding these two ropes.  From the few reviews I have read the Helix is durable for it's size and according to it's spec sheet it is rated for more falls than the Velocity. The Helix is also lighter and seems like it's in a size range that will work with a variety of belay devices.  Furthermore I can find the Helix for less money.  Given those facts and that I don't know enough at this point to have a personal preference between the two.  Is there a reason I would pick the Velocity over the Helix? 

John Wilder · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Feb 2004 · Points: 1,535

The velocity will last much longer than the helix. I generally recommend 9.8mm to 10.2mm ropes for new climbers as they tend to climb lower angle routes and top rope more, which usually puts more wear and tear on ropes. The velocity is pretty much the best workhorse rope on the market, imho. 

You can ignore the # of falls a rope is rated for- it basically means nothing in real world terms. 

So is there an objective why to tell which rope is the most durable? Size doesn't seem like it should be the only factor in determining a ropes durability. Does the fall rating factor in or is that number just nonsense?

Dave Alie · · Golden, CO · Joined Feb 2010 · Points: 75