Mountain Project Logo

Closed: Looking for the impossible in Asheville?

Original Post
BrendanN · · New London, CT · Joined Dec 2015 · Points: 164

EDIT: thanks all for the suggestions, we had a great time hiking out to stone depot (it's quite the trek but was nice to get some hiking and climbing in)

Hi all,

I'll be visiting Asheville/Lake James area with family in a couple of weeks and was hoping to get some help on areas/routes to climb, preferably within 1.5 hrs.

I am new to trad (have gear but have only followed) but comfortable with sport and leading up to 5.9, and family would probably be able to do 5.8-5.9 following (and totally OK with 5.fun). I am also comfortable with multipitch, setting natural anchors, rapping, etc. So far my research has pointed out Rumbling bald, rocky face rec area, Cedar/Stone depot, maybe Linville?

Is there anything I'm missing or is it asking too much to avoid trad and anything over 5.9 in NC?   

Austin Todd · · Squamish · Joined Apr 2016 · Points: 30

Rocky face would probably be your best option for sport climbing in those grades. Keep in mind that rocky face is essentially an outdoor gym, but they have an abundance of well protected easy sport and top rope routes. There is definitely better climbing closer to Asheville, but depending on your family's experience and comfort level rocky face would be a safe bet. 

AField · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2011 · Points: 55

Will you be closer to Lake James, or closer to Asheville?

Brian E · · Western North Carolina · Joined Mar 2005 · Points: 363

black fork. uggggg

Derrick Keene · · Kentucky · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 95

Mummy, Daddy, Prow at Linville. Gorgeous routes, all natural trad, easy to climb. Hike in to the amphitheater is the toughest part IMO.

Jack Servedio · · Raleigh, NC · Joined Feb 2016 · Points: 35
Derrick Keene wrote:

Mummy, Daddy, Prow at Linville. Gorgeous routes, all natural trad, easy to climb. Hike in to the amphitheater is the toughest part IMO.