Mountain Project Logo

Partner needed for alpine climbing in the Fann Mountains, Tajikistan

Original Post
edelweiss · · Seattle, WA · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 0

Hello,

I am looking for a partner to climb in the Fann Mountains. I will be in Dushanbe Aug 10-25th, 2017 and want to do a couple of alpine climbs. My first thought was Chimtarga, possibly in a day from Mutnye Lakes, but open to other suggestions. This is my first time in Tajikistan, so not very familiar with the region. But I am fluent in Russian, so that will help. I have gear and mountaineering experience and like to move light and fast without compromising safety. Let me know if you happen to be in the region at that time and we can talk more.

Thanks,

boogiecha · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 0

Hi Edelweiss,

Mutny is a good BC spot for most of the peaks around. You can do Chimtarga from Mutny but most likely difficult in a day time. The normal route starts from the Zindon valley, which requires 700meters gain and descent over the pass from Mutny . There are also rock routes starting near or directly form the Chimtarga Pass. In any case you will need a partner for the rock routes unless you solo 5.10.

Acclimatize on peak Energia, easily done in a day from Mutny. Or at Zamok, day trip easily possible.

I can send you more info for the Fanns (routes, maybe topos if I find them on my HD). If you further want to get in touch with local dudes let me know.

Are yu planning to stay longer in Tajikistan, any plans for the Pamirs? Another good spot for rock climbing are the Zamin Karror Wal at the Yagno valley (Yagnobska Stena) or shorter routes along the Varzob valley near by Dushanbe.

Cheers

Tomi

Hi Tomi,