Looking for Climbing Partners at The Cliffs LIC

Original Post
Maya Kumits · · New York, NY · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 0

I'm pretty new to climbing but good at it thanks to my background in Aerial Silks.  I can onsight 5.10s, work 5.11s.  I'm Lead Certified at The Cliffs LIC and looking for people to climb in the gym with - lead or toprope.  Eventually, I'd like to get outdoors too.   I prefer to climb daytime during the week, though I can make weeknights and weekends work too.  

James Sweeney · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 0

Maya,

Try here Rock and Ice meetup  

or NY Indoor Climbing

I might be going up to the Gunks this Saturday with a couple of other people. It would be a small group, just looking to do some toproping in the heat.

Let me know if you're interested so I can maintain a seat for you in the car.

Jim

Laralyn Mowers · · Astoria, NY · Joined Apr 2016 · Points: 5
Maya Kumits wrote:

I'm pretty new to climbing but good at it thanks to my background in Aerial Silks.  I can onsight 5.10s, work 5.11s.  I'm Lead Certified at The Cliffs LIC and looking for people to climb in the gym with - lead or toprope.  Eventually, I'd like to get outdoors too.   I prefer to climb daytime during the week, though I can make weeknights and weekends work too.  

I climb at the Cliffs 3x a week, usually in the mornings (6:30am). Not sure if you're down to get up that early, but if so hit me up. I also try to get outdoors as much as possible. I've got some West Coast trips coming up, but I'll be back in August, and would be glad to have a 3rd if you want to join. (Can you clean trad? Or more interested in sport?)

Thanks for the links Jim!  I'll check them out.  And I really appreciate the offer to join on Sat.  If I didn't have plans already, I'd be all over that!

Laralyn, sending you a note now!

David PriEmes · · NYC · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 0

Maya,

I usually climbing at LIC late morning or evening. I like to go to Gunks too.