Marked gear

Original Post
Lewis H · · rapid city, SD · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 5

Im pretty new to climbing and haven't marked my gear like ('biners mostly) and was curious on how others do it. Should I use tape or nail polish. Which is better? Is nail polish bad for your gear? Just anything like this would be helpful!

Andrew Krajnik · · Plainfield, IL · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 253

People use both. Tape has a tendency to leave sticky residue, and presents a potential for micro-litter when it comes off at the crag.

Nail polish won't harm your hard goods (metal parts), but it's probably prudent to keep it away from soft goods (slings and ropes).

I personally used epoxy to mark mine. Loc-tite marine-grade epoxy cures white, and is super-durable. You can add pigments to get any color you want.

awolf · · New York, NY · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 5

I pick a lot of tape while climbing so not only is this litter, it also isn't an effective method for the long run. Go with nail polish

Gunkiemike · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 2,740

I imagine it would be safe to put nail polish on the TAGS of your slings.

Andrew Krajnik wrote:

People use both. Tape has a tendency to leave sticky residue, and presents a potential for micro-litter when it comes off at the crag.

Nail polish won't harm your hard goods (metal parts), but it's probably prudent to keep it away from soft goods (slings and ropes).

I personally used epoxy to mark mine. Loc-tite marine-grade epoxy cures white, and is super-durable. You can add pigments to get any color you want.

I'm only using it on metal so I'll probably just use nail polish. The epoxy seems like a good idea though

David Kerkeslager · · Brooklyn, NY · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 45