Mountain Project Logo

Active Pro In Passive Placement

Original Post
Josh Vondran · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 86

Everyone is well aware that BD C4s are rated to be used in a passive placement if really necessary due to their dual axle design. This came up at the crag the other day while I was following for a buddy, giving him some feedback on his placements, as he is a newer trad climber. A piece he had placed but not extended walked its way back into an inward flaring crack, basically becoming a passive placement. He has a mixed rack of a couple new C4s but mostly old single axle cams (not sure what brand). I went about explaining why the C4s were okay when placed "passively" in his case, and why the older cams were not. This got me thinking. I have a set of Metolius UL Mastercams from 00 to 3. These cams have a tooth on the top of each lobe to prevent them from umbrella-ing, does this tooth make passive placement of the ULs acceptable if necessary? Does it vary by size? Should this be avoided all together?

Trevor. · · Boise, ID · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 834

My recollection is that the smallest Metolius Master cam with load bearing cam stops is the orange. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I don't have any on hand at the moment  

On a similar line, anyone know what's the smallest passively rated cam out there? I'm guessing the little blue C4. 

sclair · · SLC, Ut · Joined Jan 2012 · Points: 30
Josh Vondran wrote:

I have a set of Metolius UL Mastercams from 00 to 3. These cams have a tooth on the top of each lobe to prevent them from umbrella-ing, does this tooth make passive placement of the ULs acceptable if necessary? Does it vary by size? Should this be avoided all together?