Mountain Project Logo

ISO Mentor-Atlanta

Original Post
Kara Matassino · · Chattanooga, TN · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 0

Hey all. I'm kind of green to climbing and would love some help finding a veteran climber willing to share their time and knowledge with me. I want to respect to mentor/apprentice relationships that older climbers went through to get where they are today. I'm willing to put in the time and work to build a good knowledge base of the climbing disciplines. 

My name is Kara. I'm a female, 22, about to graduate college. I live in the Atlanta area. If anyone is interested I would love to learn all that you have to offer. I have basic sport knowledge (belay, cleaning, rapelling). I'm just looking to improve technique, build a mentor relationship with someone who has been around the block!!   

Please let me know if you would like to take someone under your wing to show me the ropes.

Cheers,

Kara

kmatassino@gmail.com

Brandon.Phillips · · Portola, CA · Joined May 2011 · Points: 55

What kind of things are you hoping to learn? Just sport climbing and technique, or venture into the world of trad and multipitch?

Kara Matassino · · Chattanooga, TN · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 0

I would like to get into trad and mutlipitch! I want to be well rounded in multiple disiplines.  

Ezra Ellis · · Hotlanta · Joined Dec 2007 · Points: 0

Kara 

You should check out the Atlanta climbing club on Facebook, some good people there.

Obviously seek out mentors at stone summit,

I'm way too busy with my kids to be of any help at this point,

Best of luck

Alex (spellstrike) Palmiter · · Duluth · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 30

Yeah, You're going to want to meet the Atlanta climbing club. They have a social meeting tonight and a gear swap if you can make it out tonight.

Alex (spellstrike) Palmiter · · Duluth · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 30

Also, the mentoring thing is actually more of a new thing. the real old climbers just figured it out.