Mountain Project Logo

Best places to live

Original Post
Ian Ritterbush · · Lincoln, Ne · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 0

So I'm just going to apologize up front for posting so many forums on the right places to live. I know exactly what I want, getting there is confusing as hell.. So basically I want to become a mountain guide and get certified in Alpine trough AMGA but I lack the skills and knowledge to begin. I have the utmost respect and love for the mountains and know this is the route for me. Gaining experience and making connectings is the most important thing for me now and I was having visions of moving to Anchorage, Ak but I think that is too drastic a move for me at this point (currently living in Ne) I have always dreamed of moving to Colorado, but would like some advice on cities. I have little outdoor climbing experience and only a couple 14ers under my belt. Ideally, a place that has a low cost of living (I will be spending most my time in the mts when I'm not working) and also a place to meet people that would be willing to go on expeditions with and learn from. I would also love to join a Rescue Team doing anything I can initially to get my foot in the door. Any advice is greatly appreciated. 

grog m · · Saltlakecity · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 70

First things first, dream big man! Second thing, baby steps - one thing at a time. Your goal is to be a mountain guide. Therefore you need lots of hiking, camping, climbing, etc experiences. All these things take time and money.

So tell us, what do you plan to do in Colorado in the mean time? What jobs will you do in Colorado while you work on mountain guiding on the side? That will help us tell you where is a good place.

What mountain craft is your favorite? Mine is rock climbing and hiking. 

Many people have similar visions as you do. It is not easy to walk on to a fire crew or a search and rescue team because everyone wants those jobs.