Gear carabiners

Original Post
David N · · Los angeles · Joined May 2017 · Points: 0

I tried to look up this topic - couldn't find what I was looking for.

I want to standardize the carabiners I use to rack my cams (all black diamond) right now it is a mashup. 

Besides the fancy color coordination, what do you look for/prefer when purchasing gear for this purpose, i,e easy to get off harness, weight, etc???

Discalimer: I am relatively new to the trad game, hence the noobish question. 

20 kN · · Hawaii · Joined Feb 2009 · Points: 1,128

My main concerns are price, weight, ability to clip easily and fluid gate action (many wiregates have poor gate fluidity). Also, it's worth considering what type of climbing you are doing and where. If you're climbing at the Creek on sandstone and you're falling or weighting your gear all the time, you might want biners cast from thicker stock so you wont wear out the biners as quick. If you're not climbing on sandstone and/ or dont weight the gear often, you can get away with thinner carabiners that weigh less without replacing them all the time.

My all-time favorite trad biners are the Camp Nano 22 (not the older 23s), becuase they are relatively cheap, in the top 10% for low weight, and they are still reasonably easy to clip which becomes a problem with many ultra-light biners which tend to be very small. They also come in many colors if that's your thing. If you want something that is really easy to clip but still reasonably light, the Camp Photons are great as well, although the gate action is a tad on the weak side which would theoretically make an open gate loading situation more likely (although still very unlikely). Unless you're climbing really hard trad where you're placing gear when pumped to hell and about to fall, I'd go with the lighter Camp Nanos.

Jonathan Awerbuch · · Boulder, Colorado · Joined Nov 2013 · Points: 15