Mountain Project Logo

How long after a sprain to boulder? (New climber)

Original Post
Becca Crompton · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2017 · Points: 0

Recently started bouldering (at the start of the new year) and about 3.5 weeks ago I sent a new, tough problem... I'd deadpointed up and there was nothing easy to downclimb so ended up jumping from fairly high (maybe 2.5m from foot to mat). I rolled my ankle and immediately felt the pain and got off the mat and iced it. I was able to limp home that night (1.5 miles) without too many problems, it was sore but manageable. 

After a week of icing and taping I was still unable to walk without a limp and went to see an Orthopaedist and got an X ray. They said there could be a tiny fracture but it was probably just a sprain and not to do too much. I've done as little as possible since then but unfortunately I'm a freelancer and have to travel for work sometimes so I haven't been able to avoid using the foot completely. I also went on a cycling holiday as it had been booked for ages but my ankle felt fine cycling by that point (2 weeks after the injury). 

However I'm not 3.5 weeks in and while it's improving, progress is SO slow and I'm not sure it's normal. I bought an ankle brace but it won't go under shoes so I wear it when I'm home. My ankle aches if I do a lot of walking/standing but is never really painful. However I can only just get downstairs and have to sort of hop off the dodgy foot still. I am also completely unable to do a single heel raise on that side, it's not painful I just physically can't get my heel off the ground. Stretching my achilles is uncomfortable too.