Mountain Project Logo

New to climbing

Original Post
Katie Wilcox · · Henderson, Nevada · Joined May 2017 · Points: 0

I am new to this sport and would really like to learn how to climb. I am looking for a guide/mentor to teach me the ropes.  If anyone has any suggestions or guidance for me, I would appreciate any advice! 

Thank you, 

Katie

Andrew Yasso · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Sep 2012 · Points: 215

Hi Katie,

Welcome to the great sport of climbing. There are lots of great climbers in the area who would be awesome to learn from. If you are seeking a guide specifically, there are four main companies who are permitted to guide in Red Rock, and I advise you only hire a guide from one of them, as anyone else is likely working illegally.

I work for the American Alpine Institute, and love introducing folks to climbing. There are also a lot of other great guides in the area who you can't go wrong with. If you're looking to learn from a female climber and guide, Elaina Arenz and Tracy Martin are two awesome guides who are psyched on introducing more women to this sport.

Cheers,

Andrew

Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much for responding. I am up to learn from anyone. So do I just call the Alpine Institute to get started? I don't know anything about climbing or who to talk to. Any information is greatly appreciated. If you have books you suggest I read to catch me on the sport that would also we greatly appreciated!

Thanks again!

Katie

Walter Galli · · Sint Maarten · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 1,956

Go to Origin climbing and fitness they have courses and guides for all your need. Best place in LV..

Nicholas Gillman · · Las Vegas · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 331