Mountain Project Logo

which rope to buy?

Original Post
laura smith · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 0

hi there 

im just starting out with climbing, I have been climbing far a little while with someone else using their gear, I want to start getting my own gear but an a little unsure on what size rope I should buy.

id really appreciate the help

cheers 

Bryan K · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 525

It depends on what style of climbing you are planning on doing.  It would help to give some additional details.

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 5

bkozak is right. However, the sort of standard these days is a 9.7 mm 70 meter rope. 9.7 is a good thickness, especially as your first rope, but 9.4 are getting pretty common and I really like my Tendon Master 9.4. Check the listings for routes you're going to climb in your area for the length. Remember that a 100 ft. route is going to need 200 ft. total to get back down, meaning a 60 meter rope is just barely long enough. 

r m · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2015 · Points: 0

I went with a 50m 10.5mm for my first rope. Suitable for a lot of top roping, and long enough for the pitches I was tackling.

You need to match your rope to your belay device to a degree. Eg A  Grigri2 is shit with 10.5mm, but an atc provides a pleasing amount of friction at that diameter.

Length is a bit region dependant. 50m can often be found on sale, but 60m is expected in some places, and even 70 in others.

Ignore dry and other coatings, they'll just serve to drive the price up.

Bill Czajkowski · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Oct 2008 · Points: 20