Mountain Project Logo

Medical Training Certification WFR / WEMT

Original Post
Peter M · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 0

Hey guys, i been wondering about furthering my education and certifications for outdoors/ mountaineering. I have been a EMT for a little while now and in July im signed up for the wilderness module to become a WEMT. I know a lot of people get the WFR, and the WEMT is a step further in training. But my question is, does anyone know any more courses to take it a step further maybe into High Altitude Training? specificity dealing with HAPE and HACE. 

I my end goal is to become more well rounded so more climbing parterns would want me to come on a trip or exipedtion and become more of a value to a team.

So if anyone knows any training they would like a team member to have to go on bigger alpine climbs i would love to know. 

I havent looked into mountaineering classes yet either, ive only done basic repelling, belaying, lead climbing, and anchor systems so far. So i still need to do some more classes and i wouldnt mind recommendations for that as well. Or if just learning from a veteran climber is a good enough apporach haha.

Thanks guys

Brandon.Phillips · · Portola, CA · Joined May 2011 · Points: 55

https://awls.org/

https://wms.org/

WMS offers all kinds of different stuff, and has access to plenty of good articles and resources. They even offer a diploma in mountain medicine. WEMT is the best place to start though, and then look specifically into High Altitude stuff from there.  There is plenty of education to get on it, but the limitation will always be resources - the main field treatment always being to descend.

For WEMT stick to well known organizations: WMI, WMA, SOLO, AERIE.  Unfortunately everyone is trying to get in on the Wilderness Medicine train these days, and there are classes out there (probably less likely at the WEMT level, but definitely at the WFR/WFA level) that are not up to industry standards.