Mountain Project Logo

Offset cams - which?

Original Post
Joe Trabucco · · Wheat Ridge, CO · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

Hello,

I was able to try my buddies' x4 offsets this weekend and thought they are nice. However, I like totem basic hybrids, and think those are better quality. What does the community recommend for offset cams?

I know they are used more for aid climbing, but in Colorado, they have many uses in free climbing (lumpy, eldo, etc).

Thank you

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 20

I really like the Metolius Offset Mastercams. The X4s are nice too, but I have a lot more of the Mastercams and they rock. Should also note that I've often found the regular Totem cams to work better in piton scars and flares than any of my offsets. There really are few things more satisfying than an offset that fits perfectly in a crack. Always makes me want to give that product designer/engineer a high five. 

calebmmallory · · Seattle, N.Carolina, &Hong… · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 425

Here in WNC I use my .3/.2 and .5/.4 X4's quite often as much of the rock is flaring in places (Linville Gorge primarily). I can think back to some routes out on lumpy and in eldo where I would have liked to have had them as well. I'm considering getting the full set now except the .75/.5 which I don't think will be of much use. 

Abram Herman · · Grand Junction, CO · Joined May 2009 · Points: 20

I don't have any experience with the Totems, but I definitely like my offset Mastercams more than my offset X4s, fwiw.

DrApnea · · Wenatchee, WA · Joined May 2011 · Points: 255

Regular totems. Nothing else needed. They will equalize in offset placements and work in parallel sides just as well.  I've had multiple offsets of different brands and sold almost all except one set to supplement my totems.

I already have totem basic regular.  I don't feel a need to buy non-basic totems.