THAILAND gear rental

Original Post
SendaGorilla Bishop · · Boulder · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 110

So, Im going to be traveling to Thailand (among other places) in a few weeks.

The thing is, I will only actually be climbing for 4 or so days (out of about 50). I really do not want to lug around all my gear for just a few days climbing in southern Thailand.

My question is:  Are there Outfitters/Guide Services etc in or around the Laem Phra Nang (Tonsai) area that would RENT me gear? (Rope, Draws, Belay device etc) ???

Or what about the possibility of hiring a "guide" that could just belay me and take me around to "the spots"? I am a seasoned climber...don't need "instruction"...but really just need the gear and possibly a competent belayer! (my GF is a total beginner.)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

dsauerbrun · · Boulder · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 55

The first time I was in thailand I was in Railay and was trying out rock climbing for the first time(in 2012) and hired a guide, it cost me 800 baht for a half day IIRC.

last time i was in tonsai people were renting ropes and draws(this was in 2013).

Either way, something you want to ask yourself is: "Do I really want to rent climbing gear in thailand?" Thailand isn't exactly well known for its safety regulations. With that being said; I'd hope that business owners are intelligent enough to retire gear fairly quickly since news getting out about rental gear failing could be pretty disastrous for climbing tourism. 

SendaGorilla Bishop · · Boulder · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 110

That is a very good point dsauerbrun! I have thought of that...but, I am a guide myself and am pretty knowledgeable about gear. I am confident that I will be able to thoroughly inspect ANY and all gear that I would rent.

Thank YOU fro the beta tho  

Ryan Marsters · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jan 2011 · Points: 848