review of all the non-locking carabiners that I own

Original Post
rafael · · Berkeley, CA · Joined Jul 2009 · Points: 30

So I've been climbing for ~9 years now, and have gone from buying the cheapo BD nonlockers, to going for the most expensive, and have used a variety on my rack at the same time. Here is the results of my years/months of using these non-locking karabiners.
This review covers
WC helium, WC astro, DMM chimera, BD hotwire, mad rock ultralight bent gate, camp photon wire straight, BD positron bent and straight, some old and prob discontinued BD non-keylock design
metolius FS mini, BD nuetrino, camp nano, BD and omega pac. oval,

First off, the tiny biners, I got a couple of them at first thinking they would be good on alpine rock runners to cut down weight, but they suck for that, they arent heavy enough to hold down the runner and it flops around and gets tangled. Then I put them as cam racking biners, one per cam, they are all fine for that purpose, I cant tell them apart, even the slightly bigger BD nuetrino doesnt seem any better. Sometimes I look at the nuetrinos and think they are bigger, must be easier to use, but I honestly never ever notice while plugging a cam at a crux move.

Which brings me to the meat of the review...

by far my favorite of all the biners I've used is the WC helium (33 grams) , which shouldn't be a surprise for anyone.
I have them rope side on my shoulder length slings. The gate opens with almost no effort, but by some amazing engineering feat snaps back perfectly after the rope. They are light, but somehow substantial, they hold the sling just enough to keep it from flopping around while racked on the harness.They sit great in the hand no matter how you grab them. I've had a few since maybe last summer, I love em, My only complaint is that they are never on sale and cost a bunch.