Mountain Project Logo

top roping

Original Post
Marcusen · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0

Hello I want to start top roping but I only have a harness shoes and a belay device. What gear should I get? also there are many of trees and boulders to anchor onto. Thank you.

Joe Garibay · · Ventura, Ca · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 86

Rope, lockers, webbing, and instruction

Chris C · · Seattle, WA · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 407

Significant safety instruction.

Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
Marcusen wrote:Hello I want to start top roping but I only have a harness shoes and a belay device. What gear should I get? also there are many of trees and boulders to anchor onto. Thank you.
A clue.
Seriously, you don't need gear yet - you need instruction.
(and if this isn't an all-time troll...)
Marcusen · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 0

I have been climbing for a couple of years now and I want to get my own gear. I climb 5.9 without a problem and want to climb more places than just a gym. I have had plenty of instruction but still willing to learn more. I was just curious on the best gear to get to set up for top roping with a tree anchor.

Muscrat · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2011 · Points: 3,625

A truck, preferably 4 wheel drive with 17" wheels and ABS.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276
Marcusen wrote:I have been climbing for a couple of years now and I want to get my own gear. I climb 5.9 without a problem and want to climb more places than just a gym. I have had plenty of instruction but still willing to learn more. I was just curious on the best gear to get to set up for top roping with a tree anchor.
Do you have any climbing partners for outdoor climbing? You would be well-served to find someone experienced to climb with before you start building your own anchors.

If you are not sure what gear you need to build a top rope anchor, you have not had enough instruction.