Mountain Project Logo

Mountaineering Research

Original Post
Molly Johnson · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

Hi, I'm a design student working on research for my senior project, which will be all about mountaineering. I would appreciate your stories and feedback from your mountaineering adventures!

Tell a story about when you’ve been injured on a mountain? How did you get off?
How has this changed your experience/expectations for the future?
Can you tell me a story when you were in significant danger?
How many mountains have you summited or attempted to summit?
What medical equipment do you bring?
Have you been in a situation where you lost or forgot a very important piece of equipment?
Name some equipment you will not climb without?
What are some of your biggest challenges/fears?
Have you or a friend been stuck in a stressful/dangerous situation?
What is your favorite part of mountaineering? Best experience and why?
How much weight are you willing to carry?
What is the most frustrating thing about the ice axe you use?
What is the most frustrating thing about the crampons you use?
What is the most frustrating thing about the backpack you use?
Have you ever done a crevasse rescue or come close?
What is something you forget most often?
Have you had more close calls before or after the sun comes up?
What are some key elements in a good mountaineering philosophy?
What advice would you give to a new mountaineer?

Don MacKenzie · · Seattle, WA · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 25

Hi Molly,
I suspect that this post will generate very little useful insight for you. I would suggest you consider the following:
- First of all, talk to your advisor. If they are remotely competent, they will be able to help you learn how to gather information like this in a more effective way.