Moving to Ventura/Oxnard?

Original Post
yosem1te · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 15

So I just got a job offer to work in Ventura/Oxnard, and I'm trying to decide if its a move I want to make. Is anyone from the area? I'm a college student currently, so I'm interested in moving to a city with both climbing access and is somewhat interesting place to live. I'm willing to drive about an hour or two to get to climbing. Honestly, I don't know much about the area, so anyone who has lived or lives in the area, any thoughts you could give me would be helpful. How is living there, is it safe, are there climbing gyms around, etc. Thanks for any info anyone can provide.

Hugo Watt · · Southern California · Joined May 2012 · Points: 5

I live in Camarillo for school and find Ventura County to be very nice. Ojai and Santa Barbra are close and both have tons of climbing. Pt Mugu is small but a great place to practice jamming and gear placements, not to mention the legendary stoney point is less than an hour away.

Matt N · · Santa Barbara, CA · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 273

Stay for the surf, drive (Jtree, S. Sierra, Yos/TM, Red Rock, Tahquitz all 4-6 hrs) for the climbing.

There is enough local stuff to keep you busy for a while, but I'm jaded and prefer the good stuff and am happy to drive for it.

DanielHart · · Carpinteria ca · Joined Dec 2016 · Points: 5

Lots of great stuff near. I live in Carpinteria just north of Ventura greatest little city I've ever lived in. Loads of good climbing near and tons of great climbing a reasonable drive.

Jeff Luton · · Ventucky Ca · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0

If you can get a spot on pierpont beach do it. Pretty good neighborhood and I managed to afford it as a 20 year old kid. The climbing is close enough. The surf is great. The food is great. The golden China has karaoke every night of the week. Venturas a good spot man. Just avoid Ventura avenue unless you're hittin up lalos tacos