Ice Screw Comparison

Original Post
Northeast Alpine Start · · Conway, New Hampshire · Joined Nov 2012 · Points: 126

I recently (like this morning) finished rounding out my rack with Petzl Speed Lights. I still have tons of love for the BD screws I've been climbing with for 15 years. I dove into some of the details in comparing them here. Please check it out:

http://northeastalpinestart.com/2017/01/12/ice-screw-comparison-review-and-giveaway/

Nick Drake · · Newcastle, WA · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 478

You focus on weight, but not real world use. I've found the petzl screws much easier to start than BD screws. However the BD screws had around 10 days on them (no rocks hit). Did you feel any difference between them new out of the box?

coldfinger · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 55
Nick Drake wrote:You focus on weight, but not real world use. I've found the petzl screws much easier to start than BD screws. However the BD screws had around 10 days on them (no rocks hit). Did you feel any difference between them new out of the box?
I have to agree, this "review" is pretty thin. Maybe you could add some less obvious info you gleaned from using them?
Michael S. Catlett · · Middleburg, VA · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 175

Petzl are the shit unless in wet ice. Aluminum conducts the cold so fast they are clogged before you make a few turns. In cold dry ice, you can't beat them

Nick Sweeney · · Spokane, WA · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 650

My rack is a mix of Petzl Laser Speed and a few Laser Speed Lights for my longer screws. As noted above, the Laser Speed Lights occasionally get "stuck" in wet ice due to how the aluminum conducts heat differently, which leads to freezing. That said, I agree that it makes sense to replace your long screws with orange ones - the weight savings are worth it and these really long screws are usually only placed at belays or while making threads.