Mountain Project Logo

rain in Red Rocks on 12/23

Original Post
Piotrek · · Redmond, WA · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 35

Hi everyone,
I am a total newbie to both sandstone and Red Rocks but I am planning to go there to climb for Christmas.
I am aware that sandstone is a bit special as for weather and needs some more time to dry up.
I checked the weather for coming weekend: google.com/search?q=red+roc…;ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
and it seems that is is going to rain from Fri evening till Sat morning. Now question to all people familiar with the area. Based on the forecast do you think it will be possible to climb in the area on Sat and/or even Sun?

I was once or twice to Nevada itself so I do not even know how rain looks like there.

Piotr

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 275

If it stops early Saturday, say by noon, you should be good for Sunday. If the ground is still very wet Sunday morning, wait til Monday. Wind will speed up the drying, as will sun (so south-facing routes will dry quicker).

Paging John Wilder...

polloloco · · Downey, CA · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 255

Thank you for asking and being responsible.
Definitely not Saturday. Probably not Sunday either - depends on weather and sun. There are a number of other local crags you can check out instead that are limestone and should be ok.

Piotrek · · Redmond, WA · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 35

I think of heading down to Joshua Tree. What other areas would you recommend to climb near Las Vegas during those rainy days?

rock hopper · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 0

If you're looking for sport you could try New Jack City. Good camping and non existent approaches.

Thomas Beck · · Las Vegas, Nevada · Joined Feb 2006 · Points: 1,040

As I'm typing this the rain prediction is for 0.33" from 12/22 to 12/24 with likely precipitation at near 100%. First storm is over a 9 hour window. Second storm is over an 11 hour window with possible showers on and off Saturday.