Mountain Project Logo

Super Glue or New Skin?

Original Post
Baba Fats · · Philadelphia, PA · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0

I am a chemist by day, and constantly come into contact with broken glassware. In fact, just today a gouged out a bit of skin on the side of my right middle finger (middle knuckle). I should have probably reported it, but unless I lose a digit, I don't consider anything smaller worth worrying about. I finished the day with just a few bandaids to stop the bleeding.

At home I applied New Skin. But I will be climbing tomorrow and was wondering about anyones thoughts on whether super glue would be a better option. I'll also be taping a bandaid over it so if it starts bleeding again, I won't bleed all over the wall

eli poss · · Durango, CO · Joined May 2014 · Points: 525

My suggestion would be to apply anti-biotic ointment over the wound and tape over it with cloth tape or athletic tape. Use either tincture of benzoin or super glue away from the wound to help the tape stick.

So don't use new skin on it right away? For normal flappers I just cut away the loose skin and use Neosporin or Jtree climbing salve. This is the first time using something else because of the nature of the cut

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

The New Skin should be adequate, with a Band-Aid backup. Besides, the injury is on your knuckle, so you won't be climbing on it, right?

No need for Super Glue.

New Skin

It's on the inside of the knuckle, touching my index finger. So it won't come into direct contact with any holds, but it will stretch and possibly rip open more from the stress and tension of gripping.

Baba Fats wrote:So don't use new skin on it right away? For normal flappers I just cut away the loose skin and use Neosporin or Jtree climbing salve. This is the first time using something else because of the nature of the cut