Looking for someone to learn from (PA)

Original Post
Jake Cramer 1 · · State College, PA · Joined Sep 2016 · Points: 80

Hello, my name's Jake, and I'm interested in learning to ice climb from someone in Pennsylvania.

What a great start to a post, right? Does this person even realize that ice climbing is extremely complex and potentially deadly?

In short, yes. However, that's exactly what I'm looking for. I'm primarily a rock climber, mostly sport but more recently trad, and I'm in an interesting situation that has piqued my curiosity about ice. I guide for my University's outdoor rec program, primarily rock climbing, caving, and backpacking trips, which affords me free access to their hard gear (crampons, tools, and screws). Everything else I need to toprope on ice I already own and am experienced with; helmet, dry-treated rope, anchor materials, trad and sport rack, and mountaineering boots (for winter trips to the dacks).

Though I have zero experience ice climbing, I do understand basic concepts of it, the most prominent being that it isn't like rock climbing.

That being said, if anyone reading this is in central PA, or anywhere within 4 hours of state college, and is willing to begin teaching a safe, young, competent climber a new sport, I would be thrilled to learn from you this coming season. If you're interested, shoot me a pm and I'd be happy to provide more info on my background knowledge and rock experience.

For those of you outside PA, alternatively, to get started should I just bite the bullet and pay for a course at NE Ice fest, or from some other guide service? Also, do you think it would be constructive, or more importantly safe, to try toprope ice climbing on my own? Any and all comments and advice are welcome.

Best regards,
Jake

Arthur Eng · · DE · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 5

http://www.collegeoutside.com/events/the-collegiate-ice-carnival/ | COLLEGIATE ICE CARNIVAL

Otherwise, facebook.com/groups/dmvice/.