Mountain Project Logo

Where to practice placing trad gear from ground in Portland?

Original Post
plurpimpin · · PDX · Joined May 2013 · Points: 0

Anybody have any suggestions for good places to practice placing trad gear from the ground in Portland? I'm new to trad and would like to practice placing gear more frequently than when I get out to the crag on weekends. I have no intention or need to climb, basically looking for rocks with cracks that I can walk around and place gear.

Rocky Butte is an obvious choice but anybody have any other suggestions? Also open to just ideas of places to check out - basically parks with rocks. I don't mind going for a little hike to check things out even if it's a bust. I live in SE so anything in the neighborhood no matter how small or lousy would be a bonus but that's getting pretty specific.

Dylan Pike · · Knoxville, TN · Joined Sep 2013 · Points: 488

Broughton bluff?

Ryan Palo · · Bend, oregon · Joined Aug 2006 · Points: 605

Broughton's Bluff, Hanging Gardens left side. You can access the top. Plenty of columns of varying width to practice on.

Michael Brady · · Wenatchee, WA · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 1,392

Hanging Gardens is probably the best option.

Carver could be decent. The base of the Chemistry slab has fairly diverse features but is not very expansive. The base of New Generation may offer a few options. TR'ing/mock leading Scotch and Soda could be pretty cool if you can climb 10+.

bryans · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2006 · Points: 437

I'd second carver as it's closet to SE. The far left (margaritaville, Neptune)also has some crack starts, especially if you are willing to climb 5 or so feet off the deck. Broughton has more options but carver has a 2 minute hike and a slightly shorther drive. (Years ago I chose Rocky Butte for my walkabout with my first set of nuts, and found more homeless camp caves and debris burnpiles than cracks.)