Ice Climbing Education

Original Post
Michael weidel · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2012 · Points: 0

Hello everyone,
I'm new to ice climbing; I took a brief intro class last year in Ouray and really enjoyed it. I'm looking for anyone who has experience and has input on the following:

(1) Recommended ice climbing schools (for further education)
(2) Recommended crampons
(3) Recommended ice tools
(4) Recommended areas to climb at (good volume of beginner climbs that I can get into leading on, as well as any recommended guide services for those areas).

Thank you; all input is appreciated.

Bill Kirby · · Baltimore Maryland · Joined Jul 2012 · Points: 40

Where you live?

Tryout lots of crampons and tools yourself before you buy.

Scott McMahon · · Boulder, CO · Joined Feb 2006 · Points: 105
Michael weidel wrote:(4) Recommended areas to climb at (good volume of beginner climbs that I can get into leading on, as well as any recommended guide services for those areas). Thank you; all input is appreciated.
This is just a concept rather than a hard fast "rule", but most people recommend you have A LOT (i can't remember the number) of days on ice before you start leading.

This isn't rock climbing. You can impale yourself. Basically you are climbing on a changing medium while covered in sharp spikes.
coppolillo · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Sep 2009 · Points: 0

Get to an ice fest and demo as many tools/crampons as you can...

I got a set of Cassin Dreams last year and they're like free strength--awesome! Their Blade Runner crampons are a bit spendy, but fantastic, too---you can swap between mono- and dual-points, vertical or horizontal.

Not sure where you live, but if you're in the East, head up to North Conway, hire Marc Chauvin and do a day or two with him...one-on-one instruction will improve your game faster than anything. Good moderates, mellow approaches there, too.