outdoor woody

Original Post
A. Michael · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 0

People of the Earth,

I am thinking about building an outdoor woody. My back deck is over a walkout basement. I have about 12' of vertical from ground to the top of the deck rails.

Do those of you with outdoor walls have problems with weathering of the holds and hardware? What has the maintenance been like?

I live in Northern Kentucky. Hot and humid summer, not much sustained cold or snow in winter, though it does happen. We can get fairly heavy rains in the spring/summer.

Jordan Moore · · Berthoud, CO · Joined Feb 2011 · Points: 5

I don't own an outdoor woody. But I work in construction...

Are you building it under the deck where it will mostly be protected from rain? By 12 ft from ground to rail did you mean 12 ft from ground to deck joysts (horizontal floor supports)? I would be more concerned about the hardware rusting if it was getting rain on consistently. If that's the case you could buy galvanized T-nuts and bolts. But reallistically it would take quite a few years to weather to the point of failure. And I wouldn't be concerned about the plastic holds weathering, regardless of the location.

Phil Sakievich · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2014 · Points: 30

I have an outdoor wall and crack machine. The wall is under a carport, but portions still get drenched from windy storms. It also gets a lot of sun. The crack machine is completely exposed to the elements, but I coated it with deck paint and then sanded it smooth. I would recommend spending the extra time and $$ to coat it in deck paint. You will get good texture and lots of protection from the elements. The supporting boards for the crack machine were not coated and they are already starting to splinter and show signs of wear after 6 months. The crack itself is totally fine.