Mountain Project Logo

Cordellette, nylon webbing....cut to length or buy more?

Original Post
Tim Lau · · Hendersonville, NC · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 20

Complete newb here... In reading up on building anchors, PAS, auto blocks, etc, I'm seeing a wide range of uses for different length materials. Is it best practice to buy s bunch materials and cut to a variety of lengths before heading out? Or, is it typical to cut as needed on site and just build a stash as you go?

I'm assuming that hanging off a cliff is not the opportune moment to whip out sharp objects.

What would a decent stash of various length/type of cordage be to get started?

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Get 20 feet of 7mm accessory cord and tie a double fisherman for your cordalette. Some people advocate leaving it untied so you can more easily adjust the length, but I've never needed that. Good for years as your ready-to-go cordalette. You will eventually want two of them.

Get 2-3 feet of the same cord (or 6mm) to pretie your autoblock. Make sure it is the correct length so it's not so long it can hit your belay device.

Climb with an experienced person or guide for instruction.

Edit: It's always best to climb with an experienced mentor or guide for a while before you go buying and making gear.

Tim Lau · · Hendersonville, NC · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 20

Thanks Frank. I've been out with our local guide (Fox Mountain Guides, Brevard/Pisgah Forest, NC) 3 times in the last 6 weeks. Definitely doing it right!

Clint White aka Faulted Geologist · · Lawrence, KS · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 151