Mountain Project Logo

Drilling

Original Post
shredability · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 0

Hey guys,

I'm relatively new to developing and was wondering how you typically drill for bolts. I've mucked out a spot in the forest where I can practice on a slab of granite before I do anything serious.

I used a standard 18V cordless drill w/ a mason drill bit and it didn't go so well (I just winged it so didn't really have high hopes). It took about 15 minuets and at the end I had two dead batteries and a hole ruffly 1" deep.

I'm thinking the first thing I need is a cordless 20V+ hammer drill.

I've done lots of research, but I've never heard anyone talk about:

1. Coolant
Typically when people cut/drill stone they'll use a cutting fluid or lubricant, is this not needed?

2. Types of rock
Are there any special requirements for granite?

Ryan Surface · · Kansas City · Joined May 2014 · Points: 438

Nice try. I find 10W-40 good for sandstone, but in granite you can probably get by with 5W-30.

Bill Czajkowski · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Oct 2008 · Points: 20

here's a better question - why don't drills come in odd valued voltages anymore?

And yes, it is a better question.

Ken Noyce · · Layton, UT · Joined Aug 2010 · Points: 2,648

"I used a standard 18V cordless drill w/ a mason drill bit and it didn't go so well (I just winged it so didn't really have high hopes).
I'm thinking the first thing I need is a cordless 20V+ hammer drill."

Well, using a standard drill was your problem, and no, using a 20V+ hammer drill isn't the answer. You need a rotary hammer drill or roto-hammer drill to be able to drill for bolts, and no this isn't the same as a hammer drill. 18 volts is fine, and I know people who even use 12V drills with success as long as it's a rotary hammer drill. Personally I use a 36V, but what matters is the impact energy, not the voltage.