Mountain Project Logo

Chest tightness after climbing

Original Post
DamonV · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 7

Hi all. I wonder if anyone's experienced the following, and what you've done about it...

I've been climbing for a few years, some toprope, some lead, some indoor, some outdoor. I really enjoy the climbing itself, but have noticed that for up to a couple days afterwards I don't feel as well. A bit out of it, breathing shallowly, and when I take a deep breath it actually hurts a bit, and my chest (diaphragm?) hurts when I try to stretch out the front of my torso. And I don't know if this is cause or effect, but there seems to be a persistent low level anxiety during those days.

If I were to guess at a cause, I'd say the stress of being in physically or mentally uncomfortable positions affects my breathing and tightness in the chest area, which persists afterwards causing my breathing to become shallower which increases anxiety. And it takes a surprisingly long time to get back to normal. I don't seem to have the same reaction to running or swimming.

Any insights and tips to help me prevent or recover from this would be much appreciated. I hate to think climbing makes me feel bad (afterwards)!

Chris Owen · · Big Bear Lake · Joined Jan 2002 · Points: 11,622

First thing I'd do is see a cardiologist and go get a stress test.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

What Chris said. See a doctor. Or, you can ask a bunch of climber's a medical question. Your choice.

mediocre · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2013 · Points: 0

Are you dizzy while this is going on? Do you feel like you're going to pass out? Do you feel palpitations in your heart?
Probably don't need to see a cardiologist right away, as long as your answer to all of those questions is a no. If you're not getting this chest tightness while running or any other aerobic activities my guess is that it's not heart related.