Mountain Project Logo

Looking for NC based partner for rock and ice

Original Post
Austin Ibele · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 0

I'm moving to Charlotte next month from Oregon and am looking for partners interested in rock and ice climbing. Mountaineering has my heart, but since I no longer have access to glaciated volcanoes, I'm looking to build rock and ice skills.

Experience/skill:
5.9 gym climber
some outdoor sport climbing
Multipitch *Volcanic* alpine routes up to 5.1ish
Lots of steep snow and mixed scrambling

Gear:
Most of a cam set
Half of a nut set
40m dynamic rope
Los of biners
2 ice tools/axe/crampons
2 pickets
7 screws

Note: I'm pretty new to pro placement (wasn't that important on my alpine routes) and don't have any WI experience, although I have played around climbing crevasses. It would be good to find people with more trad and ice experience.

Want I really want to climb: Multipitch alpine routes to summits of 6ers, trad routes, ice (if we get any), and possibly a trip to the NE for some winter mountaineering (mt Washington)

Feel free to add me on Facebook

Also, 22 years old.

Russ Keane · · Salt Lake · Joined Feb 2013 · Points: 392

Is this a gag? Did you really say alpine routes up to 5.1 ? That's essentially hiking. I'm pretty sure that you would be fine on 5.2 or 5.3 also. I see that you mention a trip to the northeast for ice climbing. That makes sense. But moving to Charlotte is not going to help your ice climbing whatsoever.

Austin Ibele · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 0